National Sports Day 2020


Today, on behalf of celebrating The National Sports Day only a few sports warriors would be selected by the Ministry of Sports and Association, on this behalf they are being honored because of their tenants. Due to the pandemic situation of Covid-19, fast and foremost the program of National Sports Day will be live programmed virtually by means of the internet. The National Sports Day of India will be organized in respect of celebrating the Birthday of Dhyan Chand who was a legendary Hockey icon every 29 August of the year program held in the traditional Rashtriya Pati Bhavan.

Awards and Nominations:

Sports Authority conveyed that out of 75 awardees 65 awardees will attend virtual National Sports awards programs from all over the country during COVID- 19 pandemic situation. Although three of nine awardees will found COVID-19 positive thereby they are restricted to attend the program. All health and safety protocols should compel to follow the guidelines at the venues especially strictly prohibited to the awardees and dignitaries present in the ceremony.

According to the report, SAI revealed that the Sports Ministry has“… the Sports Ministry has advised every award winner to undergo a COVID-19 19 test before reporting to the venue. All centers have been thoroughly sanitized and arrangements have been made to ensure social distancing during the awards function,” SAI added.

Commencing of the Ceremony:

Name of the Programme: National Sports and Adventure Awards commencing in 2020 National Sports Day.

Date and Time of the event: 29 August Saturday, The program begins in official hours  from 10:45 onwards Venue: Virtual program online

Broadcasting Channel: Doordarshan

Video Streaming at

The Procedure of the Programme:

Ram Nath Gobind, the Indian President will distribute the awards to the winners in by means of virtual mode. From the Rashtrapati Bhavan, the president would attend the event in respect of governing digital video conferencing while on the other hand, the recipients will present in the SAI centers who are participating in the event throughout the country.  By attending the conference, Minister of Sports Kiren Raju and other officials they would virtual perceived the program from the Vigyan Bhavan 

List of Awardees:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: 

Rohit Sharma (Cricket), Mariyappan T. (Para Athletics), Manika Batra (Table Tennis), Vinesh (Wrestling), Rani (Hockey)

Dronacharya Award (Lifetime category): 

Dharmendra Tiwary (Archery), Purushotham Rai (Athletics), Shiv Singh (Boxing), Romesh Pathania (Hockey), Krishan Kumar Hooda (Kabaddi), Vijay Bhalchandra Munishwar (Para Powerlifting), Naresh Kumar (Tennis), Om Parkash Dahiya (Wrestling).

Dronacharya Award (Regular category): 

Jude Felix Sebastian (Hockey), Yogesh Malviya (Mallakhamb), Jaspal Rana (Shooting), Kuldeep Kumar Handoo (Wushu), Gaurav Khanna (Para Badminton)

Arjuna Award: 

Atanu Das (Archery), Dutee Chand (Athletics), Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy (Badminton), Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty (Badminton), Vishesh Bhriguvanshi (Basketball), Subedar Manish Kaushik (Boxing), Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing), Ishant Sharma (Cricket), Deepti Sharma (Cricket), Sawant Ajay Anant (Equestrian), Sandesh Jhingan (Football), Aditi Ashok (Golf), Akashdeep Singh (Hockey), Deepika (Hockey), Deepak (Kabaddi), Kale Sarika Sudhakar (Kho Kho), Dattu Baban Bhokanal (Rowing), Manu Bhaker (Shooting), Saurabh Chaudhary (Shooting), Madhurika Suhas Patkar (Table Tennis), Divij Sharan (Tennis), Shiva Keshavan (Winter Sports), Divya Kakran (Wrestling), Rahul Aware (Wrestling), Suyash Narayan Jadhav (Para Swimming), Sandeep Para (Athletics) Manish Narwal (Para Shooting)

Dhyan Chand Award: 

Kuldip Singh Bhullar (Athletics), Jincy Philips (Athletics), Pradeep Shrikrishna Gandhe (Badminton), Trupti Murgunde (Badminton), N. Usha (Boxing), Lakha Singh (Boxing), Sukhvinder Singh Sandhu (Football), Ajit Singh (Hockey), Manpreet Singh (Kabaddi), J. Ranjith Kumar (Para Athletics), Satyaprakash Tiwari (Para Badminton), Manjeet Singh (Rowing), Late Shri Sachin Nag (Swimming), Nandan P Bal (Tennis), Netarpal Hooda (Wrestling).

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards 2019:

 Anita Devi, Sarfraz Singh, Taka Tamut, Narender Singh, Keval Hiren Kakka, Satendra Singh (All Land Adventure), Gajanand Yadava (Air Adventure), Magan Bissa (Life Time Achievement).

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy: Panjab University, Chandigarh.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar: 

Lakshya Institute and Army Sports Institute for Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent; Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) Ltd. for Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility; Air Force Sports Control Board for Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures; International Institute of Sports Management (IISM) for Sports for Development.

News Editor

News Editor- The Assam Junction Mridubon Goswami Email Id- [email protected],com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Live Updates COVID-19 CASES